Taxes
  • FILE PHOTO: Democratic presidential candidate Senator Elizabeth Warren speaks during the fourth U.S. Democratic presidential candidates 2020 election debate at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio U.S.

    Pushing Back Against the Wealth Tax at the Dem Debate

    By Michael Rainey

    Sen. Elizabeth Warren defended her proposed wealth tax at the Democratic presidential debate on Wednesday night: “I’m tired of freeloading billionaires,” Warren said . “I think it's time that we ask...

  • Social Security and Medicare taxes

    Democrat's New Taxes Wouldn't Hit Just Billionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Some Democratic tax proposals are focused on making millionaires and billionaires pay more, but other households would be affected as well. Neil Irwin of The New York Times points out Tuesday that...

  • A security camera hangs near a corner of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) building in Washington

    An Easy Way to Get $1 Trillion More in Tax Revenue?

    By Michael Rainey

    The first step in reforming the U.S. tax system doesn’t involve raising rates or eliminating deductions, say former Treasury Secretary Lawrence Summers and Penn Law professor Natasha Sarin. Instead,...

  • FedEx cuts forecast as air freight weakness hits profit

    FedEx Battles New York Times Over Trump’s Tax Cuts

    By Michael Rainey

    The New York Times published a piece Saturday highlighting the huge windfall FedEx received from the 2017 GOP tax cuts — and the company’s CEO isn’t happy with the analysis. According to the Times,...

  • FILE PHOTO - Visitors attend the 26th Monaco Yacht show in Monte Carlo port

    Tax Break for Poor Neighborhoods Is Helping Build a Superyacht Marina

    By Michael Rainey

    The 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act created special “opportunity zones” that give investors generous tax breaks in exchange for investing in low-income neighborhoods. The purpose of the tax law is “to...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Article Type
Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 7:07pm
Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 5:11pm
Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 11:56am
Monday, April 16, 2012 - 5:35pm
Friday, April 13, 2012 - 3:53pm
Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 12:11pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2012 - 9:52pm
Friday, March 9, 2012 - 12:59pm
Monday, March 5, 2012 - 5:30pm
Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 8:49pm
Wednesday, February 22, 2012 - 1:43pm
Tuesday, February 21, 2012 - 9:34pm
Wednesday, February 15, 2012 - 2:24pm
Monday, February 13, 2012 - 11:04pm
Monday, February 13, 2012 - 5:49pm
Tuesday, February 7, 2012 - 6:05pm
Friday, February 3, 2012 - 2:46pm
Tuesday, January 24, 2012 - 7:34pm
Monday, January 23, 2012 - 2:03pm
Sunday, January 22, 2012 - 3:28pm
Sunday, January 15, 2012 - 3:35pm
Friday, January 13, 2012 - 1:07pm
Monday, January 9, 2012 - 5:34pm
Thursday, January 5, 2012 - 1:22pm